Article Time

Sultans of the Ottoman Empire

list of the Ottoman Sultans in chronological order in English

  1. Osman I (1299-1326): The founder of the Ottoman Empire, Osman I laid the foundation for the Ottoman state and served as its first ruler.
  2. Orhan Gazi (1326-1362): The second ruler of the Ottoman Empire, Orhan Gazi expanded the empire’s territory and captured the city of Bursa.
  3. Murad I (1362-1389): Murad I conquered Edirne and extended Ottoman rule into the Balkans. He died in the Battle of Kosovo.
  4. Bayezid I (1389-1402): Bayezid I was captured by Tamerlane in the Battle of Ankara and spent the rest of his life in captivity.
  5. Mehmed I (1402-1421): Mehmed I ascended to the throne following Bayezid’s capture. His reign saw territorial losses in Anatolia.
  6. Murad II (1421-1444, 1446-1451): Murad II unsuccessfully besieged Constantinople but managed to regain control of the Balkans. He abdicated and returned to the throne twice.
  7. Mehmed II (1444-1446, 1451-1481): Also known as Mehmed the Conqueror, he famously captured Constantinople, ending the Byzantine Empire.
  8. Bayezid II (1481-1512): Bayezid II ascended to the throne after his father Mehmed II’s death. He was imprisoned by his father and later killed.
  9. Selim I (1512-1520): Selim I conquered the Mamluk Sultanate, gaining control of Egypt and the holy lands. He also defeated the Safavid Empire.
  10. Suleiman the Magnificent (1520-1566): Suleiman presided over the Ottoman Empire’s greatest territorial expansion and is known as “Suleiman the Magnificent” in the West. His reign included events such as the Siege of Vienna and the Battle of Mohács.
  11. Selim II (1566-1574): Selim II commanded the Ottoman navy at the Battle of Lepanto, maintaining Ottoman naval dominance in the Mediterranean.
  12. Murad III (1574-1595): Murad III implemented various reforms to restore order in the Ottoman Empire.
  13. Ahmed I (1603-1617): Ahmed I suppressed Kızılbaş uprisings in the Ottoman Empire and engaged in conflict with Iran.
  14. Mustafa I (1617-1618, 1622-1623): Mustafa I’s reign included the Ottoman defeat in the Battle of Sultanahmet.


Pedagojik makaleler ve her türlü faydalı bilgiyi sizlere sunmak için araştırmalar , analizler yapıyor ve özgün bilgilerle harmanlayarak sizlere sunuyorum. Destek olmanız beni mutlu eder. Teşekkürler

Bir yanıt yazın

E-posta adresiniz yayınlanmayacak. Gerekli alanlar * ile işaretlenmişlerdir